Tourist info: +358 (0)400 117 123 | info@parainen.fi

Utö lighthouse

The Utö lighthouse tower.
The first lighthouse in Finland was built on Utö in 1753.
The round lighthouse building was blown up during the Swedish - Russian war of 1808 - 1809.
The present lighthouse was built in 1814 under the supervision of Chief Pilot Gustav Brodd.
The lantern and the lights have been modernized several times.
The present lens was installed in 1906.

Utö village is a well-preserved entity worth a visit in its own right.
The local cultural society runs teh Lighthouse.
The Utö lighthouse includes a lighthouse church, a feature that is quite unique in Finland.
Open summertime. During the spring and in the autumn open on week-ends. Other times by appointment.

Utö

0400-143814
www.uto.fi